Winners of the 3rd University of Hawaiʻi President’s Green Initiative Awards were honored in a ceremony on February 8 at Hawaiʻi Community College’s Pālamanui campus as part of the 6th Annual Hawaiʻi Sustainability in Higher Education Summit.

Robert Silva, Honolulu CC Automotive Technology instructor, received a Faculty and Staff Leadership in Sustainability Award from UH Community Colleges Vice President John Morton got restoring ʻāina momona (abundant land) and his commitment to teaching sustainability in the trades.

The awards recognize student initiative, innovation, creativity and civic engagement in campus and community sustainability with cash prizes totaling $40,000 and are presented by the Hawaiian Electric Charitable Foundation, the Castiglione A. Casauria Foundation, Johnson Controls and Trane C.

“We are grateful for the support of our partners who sponsor these awards every year,” said UHPresident David Lassner. “They help us recognize, honor and reward the amazing work of our students, faculty and staff across all ten campuses as they innovate, collaborate and lead in amazing ways to inspire us in advancing sustainability across all ten UH campuses and the state.”

“The complex and interconnected challenges of our times—climate change, sustainability and resiliency—will require new ways of thinking, being and doing if we are to solve them,” said Matthew K. Lynch, UH System sustainability coordinator. “The creativity, passion and sophistication recognized through these awards can give us all hope for a brighter future.”

HonCC student Boysie Burdettʻs dedication to campus waste reduction and student sustainability initiatives was recently awarded a 2018 President’s Green Award

Green Student Leader Awards

The award recognizes students who take on leadership roles in sustainability related activities on campus and in their communities. The honorees receive $1,000 each from Johnson Controls, Hawaiian Electric Charitable Foundation and Trane Comprehensive Solutions

  • Boysie Burdett, Honolulu CC—For campus waste reduction and student sustainability initiatives.

Faculty and Staff Leadership in Sustainability Awards

This award recognizes excellence among UHpersonnel to lead sustainability initiatives across operations, curriculum, research, engagement and cultural connections.

  • Robert Silva, Honolulu CC—For restoring ʻāina momona (abundant land) and commitment to teaching sustainability in the trades.
HonCC Sustainability Summit Delegation Kneeling: Woodrow Rieman (Student) Standing: Melissa Martella (student), John Delay (Faculty – Geography), Robert Silva (Faculty – AMT), Kaeo Kaleoaloha (Faculty, Hawaiian Studies), Isaiah Smith (Faculty, Botany), Naomi Vaughan (Student), Aziz Agis (Student), * Missing: Michelle Nathan (Faculty, Oceanography)

Congratulations to Burdett & Silva on their green efforts and for supporting the collegeʻs green efforts.

Read the entire story at: