The University College faculty team of Jennifer Higa-King, Karadeen Kam-Kalani and Fumiko Takasugi envisioned a space where students could have a quiet area to study, generate ideas, and recharge their electronic tools and minds!


“In between classes students would line the halls standing or sitting on the floor. We wanted to create a comfortable space for them,” shares Assistant Professor Kam-Kalani. The dream of the Recharge Station came to life with help of a University of Hawai‘i Community College Part-Time Student Innovation grant. The funds were used to create a study place on the 6th floor of building 7 that houses many Humanities and Social Science classrooms and faculty offices.

The intent is to encourage students to stay on campus longer, increase the likelihood of seeking faculty assistance about course material, and increase interactions among other students.

The lounge features a special built-in counter top with ample electrical outlets, an Idea board for collaboration, flat screen television, and visual graphics to inspire great thinking. One student had a seek peak of the new space and left their approval on the Idea board saying, “OMG, this room is so pretty!”

A special blessing by Kumu Alapaki Luke took place Thursday, August 20, 2015 before the start of the new academic year. Many Honolulu CC ‘ohana came out to the blessing and wrote special messages to the students to kick off the new academic year.  View more photos here.


In the spirit of ‘ohana many programs and departments helped to make this room a reality. A special mahalo sign acknowledging their contributions is hung in the room.


Dean Crowell & CARP 42 Students – Carpentry Technology

Jennifer Higa-King – Humanities and Social Sciences

Derek Inafuku – Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services

Karadeen Kam-Kalani – Humanities and Social Sciences

Ken Kato – Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services (retired)

Billie Lueder – Exec. Assistant to the Chancellor and Director of Communications & External Affairs

Glenn Matsumoto – The Design Center

Zane Nedbalek – Information Technology Services

Operations and Maintenance

Jason Oshiro – The Design Center

Gordon Pang & EIMT 42 Students – Electrical Installation and Maintenance Technology

Kathy Rabanal – University College

Fumiko Takasugi – Humanities and Social Sciences

Norman Takeya – Architectural, Engineering & CAD Technologies