By Brian Cheung

Ka La staff writer

This article was published in the Ka La’s April/May 2014 printed edition.

Seven of eight available positions of ASUH-HCC were filled during voting in April.  All of the candidates won without opposition.

Outgoing President Kaleo Gagne announced that Anthony Park, Souraj Dutta, Clarence Cottrell, Ferdinand Bermudez and Jonah Carino as senators-at-large elected, Sean Brown elected as communications director, and Gerimi Tagonan as president. The vice president position remained vacant. The only VP candidate withdrew before balloting. The new administration will have a re-election or appoint a VP.  Gagne said that only 13 votes were cast in the election.

Sen. Sean Brown questioned why Gagne did not include the online voting page’s link on an election email blast.

He thought it discouraged students to vote, but Gagne and Vice President Misty Chiechi disagreed. They said the website is put on posters and flyers. Student could easily access it.

Gagne said the elected team will take office on April 25, with the ceremony on STAR Awards. The new administration will serve until next April.

Ka La News Staff 2014 SMB

Ka La is the student newspaper of Honolulu Community College. It is entirely student run and operated under the supervision of the school’s Student Media Board.

Its offices are located on the ground floor of Building 2, just around the corner from the book store.